Summer Enrichment Scholarships Awarded by RCCF Funds

The Roscommon County Community Foundation currently administers four funds whose purpose is to award scholarships for Roscommon Area Public Schools students to attend summer athletic, music, or arts camps.

The “Big Buck Open” Athletic Scholarship is open to 9th-12th grade students, and provides scholarships annually. This year’s recipients of the “Big Buck Open” Athletic Scholarship are Drew Jaskowski, Dane Smitz and Emily Terry.

Jackson Thiel was awarded this year’s Larry Sumerix Memorial Summer Music Scholarship. This scholarship is available for students in grades 5th-11th who will be attending summer music camps or enrichment programs.

The Richard and Margaret Torongo Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Allison Chmielewski this year. This Scholarship Fund was established in 2007 and is used to assist 5th-8th grade students attend athletic or fine arts summer camps.

This year’s recipients of the Kimberly L. Mires Athletic and Music Scholarship are Ashley Chmielewski, Aydan Dalak and Erika Terry. The Kimberly L. Mires Athletic and Music Scholarship provides funding for female students, grades 5th-8th, to attend personal advancement camps for athletics or music.

If you would like to support your community by contributing to these, or any other RCCF Fund, please contact us at 989-275-3112, by e-mail at or visit our website at

“A great pleasure in life is doing what people say you cannot do” -Walter Bagehot
Summer Enrichment Scholarship Recipients L-R Allison Chmielewski, Erika Terry, Emily Terry, Dane Smitz, Drew Jaskowski, and Ashley Chmielewki. Missing Aydan Dalak and Jackson Thiel.

Pictured L to R: Aydan Dalak, Linda Mires (representing the Kimberly Mires Athletic and Music Scholarship) Ashley Chmielewski, and Erika Terry.